El-Shafei Wins Back the title of Egyptian Amateur Open Champion
20 Jan 2020

El-Shafei Wins Back the title of Egyptian Amateur Open Champion


The curtain was brought down on the 2020 Egyptian Amateur Open , which was held over three days at the Allegria Golf Club with the participation of the best players from across the country.

Gezira Sporting Club player Abdel Moneim El-Shafei managed to win back the championship title this year to become the Republic’s champion for the second time, having previously won and held the cup for the first time in 2016.
El-Shafei wrote his name in history in the strongest championship played locally as it marks the beginning of a hundred years. The Championship was first held in 1920 and is considered one of the oldest sports tournaments in Egypt and the Middle East.
The tournament witnessed very fierce competitions that lasted until the last day, and El-Shafei was able to settle it in his favor by paying 229 strokes. This gave him a win by only three strokes. The Surprise of the tournament this year was, Ahmed Naim residing in the Emirates who flew in especially to participate. In third place was the defending champion Mamdouh El Shiekh. Mamdouh trying to win the title for a fourth time for Alexandria Sporting Club. Sharing fourth place were Fares Abdel Aziz and Ayman Hussein. Ranked sixth to tenth respectively, Ahmed Moselhi, Gary Brooks, Hassan Ismail and Former World Squash Champion Amr Shabana with Ashraf Haseeb rounding off the top 10.
The Net competition was won by Sang Lee, with Ashraf Haseeb runner up, and Tarek Azmy coming in third. Ayman Hussein was crowned the senior champion with Gary Brooks received the trophy for best senior net. Omar El Mahdy won the Best Junior trophy.

The tournament saw the participation of the Egyptian womens team member and sporting club Dina Abu El-Ela and was the only female compeitor. Two junior players participated Omar El-Mahdy and Ali Salama who was also, the youngest competitor at ten years old.
After the competitions ended, the president of the EGF, Eng. Ayman Hussein, and Board Member Eng, Ghassan Kabbani, and the director of the Allegria Golf Club, Will Bruce, and his deputy Abdel Aziz Mahmoud distributed the prizes to the winners and handed the historical championship cup to the champion Abdel Moneim El Shafei, in the presence of the champion and the former international player Amr Mahfouz who won the title three times in1974, 1975 and 1979.




Final Results Click Here